BY ASSOCIATED PRESS
EUGENE, Ore. (AP) Nearly a fourth of Oregon's medical marijuana dispensaries selling the drug recreationally are not registered to pay taxes on those sales.
Dispensaries have until Feb. 29 to pay a 25 percent sales tax on January recreational marijuana sales.
As of Thursday, 245 out of 320 dispensaries selling recreational pot had set up accounts with the state Department of Revenue, according to reports from the Register-Guard.
Oregon Department of Revenue spokeswoman Joy Krawczyk says the department expects an upswing in registrations as the deadline nears.
Many medical marijuana dispensaries are temporarily selling the drug for recreational use. Licenses for those looking to sell recreational marijuana alone will not be issued until the fall.
Tax reminders were mailed to recreational marijuana dispensaries about a month ago.
(Photo Courtesy of Fortune)
The US Government Is Asking For Citizens’ Opinions on Marijuana Laws
Cannabis Has Less Effect on Young Brains Than Once Believed, Study Says
7 Ways Athletes Use Cannabis
Florida State Quarterback Avoids Jail For Marijuana Possession
Celebrities1 week ago
9 Talk Show Hosts Who Smoke Weed
Culture2 weeks ago
The 6 Most Ridiculous Ways People Have Tried To Pass A Drug Test
Culture6 days ago
9 Coolest Cannabis-Friendly Career Fields
Laws3 days ago
Marijuana Laws in Canada: Province by Province
Health2 weeks ago
5 Over-The-Counter Medications That Are More Dangerous Than Weed
Culture1 week ago
9 Activities To Socialize Your Smoke Sesh
Business1 week ago
These 6 Industries Don’t Want Hemp Legalized
Guides2 weeks ago
The Ultimate Guide to Cannabinoids in Cannabis