Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

News

Texas Law Enforcement Will Not Test THC Levels in Misdemeanor Possession Cases

Amidst confusion over hemp laws in Texas, this new development was just announced.

Texas Marijuana Laws: Everything You Need To Know

The ongoing dilemma over lab testing has defined the rollout of Texas’ new hemp law. This month brought another development, with the state’s Department of Public Safety informing law enforcement that state labs will not conduct testing in misdemeanor marijuana cases. 

Lawmakers in Texas passed a bill last year permitting farmers in the state to cultivate hemp, and effectively removing it from the state’s list of controlled substances and legalizes cannabidiol, or CBD, as well as products made from hemp. The measure was signed into law last June  by Republican Gov. Greg Abbott. 

But the new law immediately sparked confusion on the local level.  The district attorney in Tarrant County, Texas immediately dismissed 235 marijuana misdemeanors, saying she and her staff had no way determining whether individuals who had been charged had been carrying marijuana with over 0.3 percent THC, the state’s limit for hemp. 

The problem stemmed from the new law failing to allow for additional lab funding, and many police departments in the state lack the requisite technology to conduct those tests. Sharen Wilson, the Tarrant County district attorney, said last June that a “lab report in our estimation is now a requirement of the crime because it’s the only way you can tell legal from illegal.” Most of the dismissed cases, Wilson said at the time, were for possession of two ounces or less of marijuana.

Steven McCraw, the director of the Texas Department of Public Safety, said in a letter to law enforcement agencies that the legislature “added resources to the laboratory to help expedite the analysis of those felony cases, however, additional funding to address misdemeanor cases was not provided because the laboratory does not analyze misdemeanor drug cases.”

“Annually, there are more than 80,000 misdemeanor marijuana arrests made in Texas,” McCraw said. “DPS will not have the capacity to accept those misdemeanor cases.” 

McCraw said in the letter that the new THC testing methodology in the state labs will be finalized by the end of March, and that the lab service will require 60 days to be implemented. Then, DPS will begin the 845 plant materials already submitted by local law enforcement for testing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement

HT Newsletter

Subscribe for exclusive access to deals, free giveaways and more!

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Advertisement

You May Also Like

News

The chief of police says the force will not abide by the resolution passed by the city council.

News

If approved, it would echo a move away from cannabis prosecution taking place state-wide.

News

State officials are working to develop more cost-effective testing procedures to distinguish marijuana from hemp.

News

The Texas Department of Public Safety abruptly suspended the permitting process just one week after launching it.

News

Some patient advocates are concerned that the policy could lead to illegal behavior.

News

The policy change flaunts evidence that extracurricular activities can prevent drug use.

News

Thanks to the recent change in law, misdemeanors are getting reviewed and dismissed.

News

Traditionally red Texas is looking just a little greener.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!